The Little Book of Sloth Philosophy : Review

credit : bug’s camera

After a long time I didn’t read a book, finally I’ve read this book for almost 2 years! I bought this on June, 20 2019 and finished on February, 20 2021. What took you so long, Na? I think because I’m not a book person, so I have no intention to read a book (not because the book isn’t interesting, but because I AM not interested with reading activity)

So, today I will do a mini review even though I’m not a reviewer but let me spoil the book!

Title : The Little Book of Sloth Philosophy

Author : Jennifer McCartney

Language : English

Where I bought : Books and Beyond Shopee Mall

Price : Rp 162.000

Pages : ±170

What the book say :

This book really encourage us to embrace the sloth philosophy. Sloth are mindfulness in action. In this book, we can enjoy take-it-slow wisdom inspired by sloth, including advice on sleep, eating, exercise, work, relationship etc. There is one method for a more slothful life that write on this book, the method called ‘SLOW’

S stands for sleep in. This actually telling you that sleep is good for you, because it’s good for our skin and our immune system. Enough sleep, not being sleep deprived or being too much sleep!

L stands for leave your phone at home. We’re all too plugged in and too much screen time. I know it’s hard for us but we can start to get used to it with first 4 minutes not looking on our phone. And then 5 minutes put your phone on pocket while you’re walking, then 10 minutes, period of days, week and so on.

O stands for opt out. Make a choice to opt out of the idea that you need to be busy, engaged, productive at all times. It’s just fine to be unproductive every so often. In fact, sloth philosophy believes it’s essential to good mental health.

W stands for ‘What’s the rush?’. Repeat the phrase when we are feeling overwhelmed or stressed out. Rethink the priorities and take a breath.

Besides the SLOW method, this book write down the people who follow the sloth philosophy and practical guide for health and wellness, food and drink, sleep, leisure and pleasure, love and relationship, work and school, beauty and self-care through sloth’s view. There are some quizzes if you bored when you read, the quizzes is providing a few question or you can find the poetry about sloth as well. And don’t forget that this book write a list of songs for people who embrace the sloth philosophy. Also, last but not least there are many quotes and sloth facts so you can upgrade your knowledge.

What I feel :

First time I looked for a book, this book caught my eyes. The pink with cute sloth in front of cover and the title made me curios. What life lesson can be learn from the sloth? And why must be sloth? I don’t even know how sloth live their life. So I decided to buy the book and when it arrived, I little bit shock because the book’s size is small!! I guess the size is like normal book out there, medium or large. It similar with photo’s size, maybe 4R? This made the book’s value increase because IT REALLY CUTEEEE!!!

Okay, because this book is in English, it actually feels really difficult for me. I have to translate the word I don’t know and look for the meaning of the sentences. But overall, I’m okay with that because this is the way for me to learn English and master it!

For the content, I really like it and expand my knowledge about sloth and how I live my life. Create priorities, being mindful and focus in every activity, and so much learn! This book is recommended if you overwhelmed or stress out of life.

Rating : 85/100✨

Thank you for reading my mini review, see you later in another reviyyyuw!!

Xoxo,

Bug

Leave a comment